Associate Conservation Minister Kate Wilkinson today announced the appointment of three new members to the Northland Conservation Board.

Date:  29 September 2009 Source:  Office of the Minister of Conservation

Associate Conservation Minister Kate Wilkinson today announced the appointment of three new members to the Northland Conservation Board.

Mrs Maria Tau, Mr William Goodfellow and Mr Ian McGill join the ten member Board for a three year term.   

The three new members all hail from the Bay of Islands Area, but with diverse backgrounds that will add value to the current composition of the Board.

Mrs Tau is of Te Iwi o Ngati Toro and her appointment will ensure the continuity of cultural and historic input into the Board and complement the work in this field current Board members are undertaking.

The appointment of Mr William Goodfellow acknowledges the importance of tourism to Northland and ensures the continuity of contribution in this field following the retirement of Jeroen Jongejans.   

Mr Ian McGill brings with a wide background in local government and business management – skills that, along with Mrs Tau and Mr Goodfellow, will ensure the availability of a wide variety of skills and experience when the Board tackles the review of the Conservation Management Strategy.

“The three new members bring with them a range of skills that will complement those already available on the Board,” the Associate Minister said.  “Ensuring Boards represent our geographic communities and communities of interest well, is essential to them providing sound advice to the Department of Conservation’s policy and overall direction.”

Conservation Boards play a key role in developing and monitoring conservation management strategies, each Conservancy’s 10-year blueprint for managing public conservation land.

Northland Conservator, Chris Jenkins, said he looked forward to working further with the new Board on revision of the Northland Conservation Management Strategy and the development of a potential Kauri National Park in the Waipoua Forest.

“It’s very positive to have new members bringing such knowledge and experience to our Board, especially in key areas of tourism and cultural heritage.  This will be particularly valuable combined with the background other Board members now have.”

The Associate Minister thanked outgoing members Jeroen Jongejans, David Monro, Robin Leiffering and Richard Shepherd for their significant contribution to the Board.  

The Associate Minister made special note of the long service to the Board by Jeroen Jongejans and his invaluable contribution during his two terms on the Board, particularly in the field of marine ecology and sustainable eco-tourism as well as his role as Deputy Chair.

New members – all appointed for a three year term

Mrs Maria Tau - Currently a Trustee and conservation portfolio holder for the Piki Te Aroha Trust.   Mrs Tau’s Hapu/Iwi Affiliation in the Bay of Islands Area will be a valuable asset to the Board.

Mr William Goodfellow and his family have strong connections with the Bay of Islands and Urupukapuka Island in particular. His background and experience is in tourism and he is owner of “Explore NZ”, a tourism company based in Auckland and the Bay of Islands.   His tourism network will be a valuable asset to the Board and conservation in Northland.

Mr Ian McGill’s background in business management will provide the Board with a good balance in terms of the skills and experience to complement the conservation and environmental focus of the majority of Board members.

Other members of the 10 member Board

Kevin Evans - Dargaville
Ian Faulkner – Bay of Islands
Judi Gilbert - Whangarei
John Kenderdine – Kaitaia
Helene Leaf – Rawene
Waitai Petera – Kaitaia
Ken Ross – Bay of Islands

back to top


Christian Bonnevie 
+64 21 243 8266
+64 4 817 8266

See also:

Northland Conservation Board

Back to top