Introduction

Learn about the WARO land assessment process and view draft land access recommendations.

The WARO land assessment process

The focus of the land assessment for the 2018 national WARO concession is on:

  • new areas of public conservation land that have not previously been assessed for WARO access
  • land that has had a change in land status or is covered by new or revised management planning documents
  • land previously assessed for the 2015 WARO concession where issues have come up that may mean a change in WARO access is needed for the 2018 concession.

The focus of the June external stakeholder consultation is on:

  • the draft recommendations on WARO land access, including recommended access dates (timings). For the current current North Island (PDF, 1,015K) and South Island (PDF, 846K)   concessions, access dates can be found in Schedules 4 and 5 of the permits. These dates are open for comment. Written comment needs to be with the department by 5 pm 16 July 2018 (extended from 30 June 2018). People who have sent in submissions previously are welcome to resubmit.

External feedback received on other aspects of the WARO concession, apart from the land and access dates, will be noted but are not the focus of this engagement as they are more a matter for DOC and WARO concessionaires.

Draft WARO land access recommendations

North Island
South Island

WARO maps

Questions?

For more information or to submit on the draft regional land assessment recommendations, contact the relevant DOC WARO regional co-ordinator (below) or email permissionschristchurch@doc.govt.nz.

Region

WARO co-ordinator

Contact email address

Southern South Island

John Roberts

jroberts@doc.govt.nz

Eastern South Island

David Agnew

dagnew@doc.govt.nz

Western South Island

Joy Comrie

jcomrie@doc.govt.nz

Northern South Island

Jo Gould

jgould@doc.govt.nz

Lower North Island

Andy Mercer

amercer@doc.govt.nz

Hauraki/Waikato/Taranaki

Andrew Styche

astyche@doc.govt.nz

Central North Island

James (Hemi) Barsdell

jbarsdell@doc.govt.nz

Auckland

Dave Smith

No Auckland WARO areas

Northern North Island

Hamish Eglinton

heglinton@doc.govt.nz

 

Back to top