Stylised depiction of various New Zealand fauna and flora
Image: DOC


Why the Options Development Groups (ODGs) were established, their objectives, what they do and who is on them.

Jump to:

Why the ODGs were established

We held hui with Treaty partners in late 2019 where we sought feedback on the process for the partial reviews. Our Treaty partners emphasised that the process should involve both local- and national-level engagement with Māori.

The ODGs have been established to make sure the partial reviews of the general policies are guided by perspectives and insights from te ao Māori at a national level. In June 2020, the Director General asked whānau, hapū and iwi and Māori organisations and conservation board chairs to nominate people to work with us.

Objectives of the ODGs

The ODGs objectives are to:

  • consider how Treaty responsibilities are currently reflected in the general policies
  • update the description of Treaty principles in the general policies
  • consider how the general policies should reflect the recommendations made in Ko Aotearoa Tēnei
  • identify areas where the two general policies could be more consistent in the language around Treaty responsibilities
  • identify if changes are needed to legislation or other policies to remove any limitations to how DOC and others fulfil Treaty responsibilities.

What the ODGs do

The responsibilities of the ODGs will include:

  1. Reviewing the general policies and develop recommendations (and / or options) for change;
  2. Attending hui with whānau, hapū and iwi and workshops with conservation stakeholders to discuss their proposals for change
  3. Consider the views of whānau, hapū and iwi and conservation stakeholders;
  4. Deliver a final report with recommendations/options for changes to the general policies

The final report will be given to the Director General of DOC in mid-2021. Public consultation will take place on the proposals in late 2021.

Detailed process for partial reviews of the general policies.

Who is on the ODGs

As a collective, the members of the Options Development Groups have expertise in:

  • tikanga and mātauranga taiao
  • conservation issues and practice
  • applying the principles of Treaty of Waitangi | Te Tiriti o Waitangi
  • policy development and analysis

Of the 12 appointed members, 8 were nominated by whānau, hapū, iwi and Māori organisations, and 4 were nominated by Conservation Board Chairs. And there are a further 3 officials from DOC as ex-officio members.

More about the appointment process.

The appointees are:

Te ao Māori representatives

  • Hoani Langsbury
  • Tame Malcolm
  • Aroha Mead
  • Beverley Nawarihi Hughes
  • George Riley
  • Dr Valmaine Toki
  • Dion Tuuta
  • Steven Wilson

Conservation Board representatives

  • Mana Cracknell
  • Vicky Dombroski
  • Nicole McCrossin
  • Dr Barry Wards

DOC | Te Papa Atawhai officials

  • Dr Kayla Kingdon-Bebb, Kaiwhakarite – Te Pae Whakatere
  • Jeff Flavell, Principal Policy Advisor – Policy Unit
  • Karl Beckert, Strategic Operations Manager – National Operations Unit

Find out about the members of the Options Development Groups.

Back to top