Learn about the many islands you can visit in the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park/Ko te Pataka kai o Tikapa Moana Te Moananui a Toi.

    What can you do in the marine park? Spot a kiwi on Motuihe or a takahē on Tiritiri Matangi. Climb a volcano on Rangitoto. Tramp into the wilderness on Great Barrier Island. Take a tunnel tour on North Head or a tour through historic Mansion House on Kawau Island.

    On this page:

    Also visit our Marine reserves pages.

    Places to go

    Note: Browns Island (Motukorea) is owned by Auckland Council. 

    Island nature reserves that require a landing permit

    You must have a landing permit to land on these islands:

    • Mokohinau Islands (all except Burgess Island)
    • Little Barrier Island/Hauturu
    • Cuvier Island
    • Mercury Islands (all except Great Mercury Island)
    • Alderman Islands
    • Whangamata Islands

    Pest free islands

    You can visit many of the islands in the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park. Many of these islands had pest animals removed and are sanctuaries for native wildlife.

    Pest free islands include:

    • Beehive Island/Taungamaro
    • Broken Islands (Pig Islands)
    • Te Hauturu-o-Toi/Little Barrier Island
    • Kaikoura Island (Selwyn Island)
    • Mokohinau Islands
    • Motuhaku Island
    • Motuihe Island/Te Motu-a-Ihenga
    • Motuora Island
    • Pakatoa
    • Rakino Island
    • Rangitoto Island and Motutapu Island
    • Rotoroa, Tarakihi (east of Waiheke)
    • Te Haupa Island (Saddle Island)
    • The Noises
    • Tiritiri Matangi Island.
    Back to top