Rock wren/tuke (xenicus gilviventris)

Image: Sabine Bernert | ©


DOC is planning a predator control programme of just over 550,000 hectares, or 6% of public conservation land, at sites across the North and South Islands in 2020/21.


This programme is funded from the Government’s Budget 2018 investment in predator control of $81.2 million over four years. This provides for sustained predator control over an increased area of public conservation land. It also allows DOC to respond to predator plagues which occur when beech and other forests produce heaving seeding (mast), as in 2019.

This year, there is no significant forest mast. Priority sites for the 2020/21 programme have been confirmed and are at an advanced stage of planning.

The maps below show the locations of planned operations:

Detailed maps of sites are available on the pesticide summaries interactive map. This contains information about all DOC pesticide operations, ground and aerial.

Predator control operations for 2020/21 are listed below. Operations use aerial 1080 unless listed as ground control, which is mostly trapping.

Operations 2020/21
Site DOC district Estimated hectares Status
Aerial operations      
Waitutu Te Anau 64,815 Completed 4 March 2020
Eglinton Te Anau 7,500 Completed 26 May 2020
Waikaia Murihuku 7,014 Completed 23 June 2020
Wet Jacket Peninsula Te Anau 39,707 Completed 26 June 2020
Hokonui Falls Murihuku 6,277 Confirmed
Whataroa South Westland 12,892 Confirmed
Punakaiki Buller 43,330 Confirmed
Heaphy Lowlands Buller 19,259 Confirmed
New Creek Buller 64,230 Confirmed
Mokihinui Buller 45111 Confirmed
Roaring Meg Greymouth 11,680 Completed 11 September 2020
Arthur’s Pass/Lake Sumner valleys Rangiora 28,688 Confirmed
Nelson Lakes St Arnaud 31,305 Completed 7 September 2020
Aorere Golden Bay 47,995 Completed 17 August 2020
Motueka Abel Tasman 8,311 Confirmed
Project Kaka (Holdsworth-Penn Creek) Wairarapa 29,891 Confirmed
Parininhi New Plymouth 1703 Completed 16 October 2020
Waitaanga Plateau New Plymouth 19259 Confirmed
Pouiatoa - Taramoukou/Pouiatoa block New Plymouth 3800 Completed 20 September 2020
Pouiatoa - Taramoukou/Taramoukou block New Plymouth 1850 Completed 20 September 2020
Pirongia Te Kauri Waikato 16,028 Completed 21 September 2020
Rotoehu Tauranga 2,600 Completed 16 October 2020
Te Kopia Tauranga 4,039 Confirmed
Hauraki Southern Forests Hauraki 24,104 Confirmed
Ground control      
Stewart Island  Dotterel Rakiura 5,382 Confirmed
Haast Kiwi South Westland 7,570 Confirmed
Landsborough South Westland 2,775 Confirmed
Murchison Mountains Te Anau 52,985 Confirmed
Arthur’s Pass/Lake Sumner valleys Rangiora 5,671 Confirmed
Te Maruia Greymouth 3,751 Confirmed
Otawa Tauranga 351 Confirmed
Whareorino King Country 635 Confirmed
Back to top