View the status of DOC's statutory planning documents - conservation management strategies, national park management plans and conservation management plans.

Updated January 2021

Conservation management strategies (CMS)
CMS Approved Status
Auckland October 2014 Current
Bay of Plenty December 1997 Under review
Canterbury (Waitaha) September 2016 Current
Chatham Islands August 1999 Review not yet scheduled
East Coast/Hawke’s Bay October 1998/October 1994 Under review
Nelson/Marlborough September 1996 Review not yet scheduled
Nga Whakahaere Takirua Requirement of Ngati Porou Claims Settlement Act 2012 Development options under discussion
Northland September 2014 Current
Otago September 2016 Partial review underway
Southland Murihiku (includes subantarctic islands) September 2016 Current
Stewart Island/Rakiura February 2011 Review not yet scheduled
Te Hiku Requirement of NgāiTakoto / Ngāti Kuri / Te Aupōuri / Te Rarawa claims settlement acts 2015, Ngāti Kahu Claims Settlement Act 2017 Under development
Tongariro-Taupo May 2002 Review not yet scheduled
Waikato September 2014 Current
Wanganui April 1997 Review not yet scheduled
Wellington  January 2019 Current
West Coast Te Tai o Poutini April 2010 Review scheduled to start in 2022
National park management plans (NPMP)
NPMP Approved Status
Abel Tasman October 2008 Review not yet scheduled
Aoraki/Mount Cook August 2004
Amendment June 2012
Under review
Arthur’s Pass December 2007
Amendment June 2012
Review not yet scheduled
Egmont February 2002 Review not yet scheduled
Fiordland June 2007 Review not yet scheduled
Kahurangi June 2001
Partial review December 2010
Amendment April 2017
Review not yet scheduled
Mount Aspiring June 2011 Review not yet scheduled
Nelson Lakes October 2002 Review not yet scheduled
Paparoa February 2017 Current
Rakiura February 2011 Review not yet scheduled
Tongariro October 2006
Partial review October 2011
Partial review June 2018
Review not yet scheduled
Westland Tai Poutini December 2001 
Amendment June 2008
Amendment April 2014
Review not yet scheduled
Whanganui August 2012 Current
Conservation management plans (CMP)
CMP Approved Status[1]
Abel Tasman Foreshore Scenic Reserve (adjoins Abel Tasman National Park) June 2012 by Management Plan Approval Committee
Partial review November 2015
Cape Kidnappers – Gannet Reserve Te Kauae O Maui August 1998 To be revoked when new Hawke's Bay CMS approved
Coromandel Peninsula Conservation Land February 2002 To be revoked
Farewell Spit Nature Reserve / Puponga Recreation Reserve December 1990 To be revoked when new Nelson Marlborough CMS approved
J M Barker (Hapupu) National Historic Reserve April 2000 To be revoked when new Chatham Islands CMS approved
Kaimanawa Forest Park April 2007 To be revoked when new Tongariro-Taupō CMS approved
Kaweka Forest Park June 1991 To be revoked when new Hawke's Bay CMS approved
Molesworth Recreation Reserve October 2013 by Nelson Marlborough Conservation Board Current
Pukekura (Taiaroa Head) Reserves March 2013 by Otago Conservation Board for Taiaroa Head Nature Reserve and Taiaroa Head Foreshore Wildlife Sanctuary
May 2012 by Dunedin City Council for the other reserves
Pukenui Forest – Ngahere o Pukenui June 2009 by Whangarei District Council and Northland Conservation Board Review not yet scheduled
Tāmaki Makaurau Motu Requirement of Ngā Mana Whenua o Tāmaki Makaurau Collective Redress Act 2014 Project planning on hold
Ruahine Forest Park February 1992 To be revoked
Te Hauturu-o-Toi/ Little Barrier Island Nature Reserve Approved August 2017 by Ngāti Manuhiri Settlement Trust and Auckland Conservation Board
Operative October 2017
Te Tapui Tokotoru (Moutohorā (Whale Island) Wildlife Management Reserve, Ōhope Scenic Reserve and Tauwhare Pā Scenic Reserve) October 2008 by Te Tapatoru ā Toi (joint management committee established under Ngati Awa Claims Settlement Act 2005) Review on hold
Te Waihora Joint December 2005 by Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and the Minister of Conservation Review not yet scheduled
Te Waikoropupū Springs April 2009 by Nelson Marlborough Conservation Board Review not yet scheduled
Urupukapuka and Waewaetorea islands 1984 To be revoked
Wairau (Boulder Bank and Te Pokohiwi) Requirement of Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō, Ngāti Kuia, and Rangitāne o Wairau Claims Settlement Act 2014 Development on hold
Whirinaki Te Pua Tāne Conservation Park By Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whare and Bay of Plenty Conservation Board. Operative October 2017 Current

1 Identified CMP will be revoked when relevant CMS approved.

Back to top