In the “World Heritage tentative list frequently asked questions

The eight sites that have been included on New Zealand’s current tentative list are those which clearly met the world heritage threshold of ‘outstanding universal value’ on the basis of the material submitted.

The New Zealand World Heritage tentative list comprises the following sites:

Cultural heritage sites

  • Kerikeri Basin Historic Precinct
  • Napier Art Deco Historic Precinct
  • Waitangi Treaty Grounds Historic Precinct

Natural heritage sites

  • Kahurangi National Park, Farewell Spit, and the Canaan karst system
  • Kermadec Islands and Marine Reserve (and volcanic landforms along the Kermadec Ridge)
  • Whakarua Moutere, or the North East Islands (including Poor Knights Islands)
  • The Waters and Seabed of the Fiords of Fiordland (Te Moana o Atawhenua) – proposes as an addition to the existing Te Wāhipounamu – South West New Zealand World Heritage Area

Mixed cultural/natural serial site

  • Auckland Volcanic Field. 

The existing list

The eight sites recommended for New Zealand’s tentative list will replace the one site on the existing list, Cape Reinga and the Three Kings Islands/Manawatāwhi, which would be subsumed in the larger Whakarua Moutere (or North-East Islands including Poor Knights Islands) proposal. The expectation will be that those eight sites listed will be nominated and achieve world heritage status at some point in the future.

Back to top