The Taranaki region offers 21 hunting blocks on public conservation land.


The Taranaki region covers an area from the Patea River mouth in the south, to the Mokau River mouth in the North, inland to lake Rotorangi and north up to Ohura. There is over 128,000 ha of Public Conservation Land within this region, including Egmont National Park and the North Taranaki forests and reserves.

The hunting blocks are spread throughout the Taranaki area with mostly good road access. Goats and pigs are the main species hunted.

The area is characterised by steeply dissected hill country and a narrow coastal strip of uplifted marine terraces. Rivers run chiefly from east to west and have estuaries at the coast.

Find things to do and places to stay Taranaki Forests hunting


Egmont National Park Visitor Centre
Phone:   +64 6 756 0990
Fax:   +64 4 471 1117
Address:   2879 Egmont Rd
Egmont National Park
Postal Address:   PO Box 462
New Plymouth 4340
Back to top