Archived content: This media release was accurate on the date of publication. 


Nominate your environmental champions for this year's Green Ribbons Awards. Nominations close 15 April 2016.

Date:  15 March 2016 Source:  Offices of the Minister of Conservation and the Minister for the Environment

Green Ribbon Awards Whatunga te Tangata Toitu te Whenua.

The Government is calling for inspirational New Zealand organisations to make a nomination for the Green Ribbon Awards, Environment Minister Dr Nick Smith and Conservation Minister Maggie Barry announced today.

"This year's categories cover a range of important environmental issues from business leadership and climate change to protecting our biodiversity and Kaitiaki leadership.

People across the country have an important role to play in protecting and enhancing our unique environment. Whether you are a large business taking steps to improve environmental management or a small community group making a difference to our environment on the ground, we encourage you to make a nomination," the Ministers say.

This year's categories are:

Environmental projects

  • Protecting our biodiversity
  • Resilience to climate change
  • Minimising our waste
  • Caring for our water
  • Protecting our coasts and oceans


  • Business leadership
  • Community leadership
  • Leadership in communication and education
  • Kaitiaki leadership
  • Philanthropy and partnership

"Each year we get nominations from an impressive selection of environmental champions. It is always hard to choose the finalists and winners from such inspirational organisations," the Ministers say.

Past winners include projects carrying out large scale pest control, educational programmes inspiring children to care for the environment, eco-friendly businesses and collaborative marine management groups.

The awards will be celebrated at a ceremony at Parliament on 7 June, during the week of World Environment Day. At this year's ceremony Ministers will also be awarding the Loder Cup, which acknowledges outstanding achievements in flora conservation work.

Nominations for the Green Ribbon Awards can be made through the Ministry for the Environment website. Nominations close on 15 April 2016.

Back to top