Archived content: This media release was accurate on the date of publication. 


Nominations for the Green Ribbon Awards, which honour New Zealand's environmental leaders are now open.

Date:  05 March 2015 Source:  Office of the Minister of Conservation

The Green Ribbon Awards are to be a joint endeavour for the first time between the Ministry for the Environment and the Department of Conservation, Ministers Dr Nick Smith and Maggie Barry announced today.

Green Ribbon Awards.
Green Ribbon Awards

"It is appropriate in marking 25 years of celebrating exceptional contributions made by New Zealanders to our environment that we strengthen the awards by joining the forces of the Ministry for the Environment and the Department of Conservation. We are taking a more integrated approach to the awards, just as we need to take a more integrated approach to protecting our water, air, land, forests and treasured species," Environment Minister Dr Nick Smith says.

“Communities, volunteers and partners are vital because Government can't achieve all that needs to be done alone. We are fortunate to have supportive partnerships and generous philanthropists who want to be part of achieving the vision to protect what defines us as New Zealanders. I'm encouraging conservation champions from across New Zealand to nominate for these awards,” Conservation Minister Maggie Barry says.

This year’s categories are:

  • Environmental Projects
  • Protecting our biodiversity
  • Reducing our greenhouse gas emissions
  • Minimising our waste
  • Protecting our coasts and oceans
  • Caring for our water 


  • Business leadership
  • Community leadership
  • Leadership in communication and education
  • Public sector leadership
  • Philanthropy and partnership

“Over the past 25 years we’ve celebrated the achievements of a wide range of diverse people, organisations and businesses that have gone above and beyond to protect and improve New Zealand’s environment. More than 170 individuals and groups have been recipients of a Green Ribbon award since 1990,” Dr Smith says.

Past winners include school groups that have encouraged environmental awareness among the next generation, businesses that have made sustainability integral to their day-to-day work, and community groups which have planted thousands of trees, eradicated pests and protected native species.

"We look forward to welcoming this year's finalists to Parliament on 4 June, prior to World Environment Day on 5 June to celebrate and acknowledge their contributions and to announced the 2015 winners," the Ministers say.

Nominations can be made through the Ministry for the Environment and Department of Conservation websites:

Nominations close on 10 April.


Seonah Choi (Dr Smith)
Phone: +64 27 846 6697

Cat Corser (Ms Barry)
Phone: +64 22 430 4339

Back to top