Archived content: This media release was accurate on the date of publication. 


Minister of Conservation Hon Kate Wilkinson today announced the appointments to the Southland Conservation Board.

Date:  23 December 2010

Minister of Conservation Hon Kate Wilkinson today announced the appointments to the Southland Conservation Board. “I am pleased to reappoint Paul Duffy of Wyndham, Stewart Bull of Riverton and Viv Shaw of Te Anau”.

Mr Duffy is a district councillor. He is a qualified hearings commissioner, a dairy farmer, and a private land covenanter. His outdoor interests are fishing and walking.

Mr Bull is a nominee of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu. His outdoor recreation interest is fishing.

Dr Shaw is a marketing consultant and former academic. She has a high level of awareness of conservation issues in New Zealand and experience running a community-led conservation project. Her outdoor interests are skiing and tramping.

“I am also pleased to appoint Fiona Black of Te Anau, Peter Ridsdale of Invercargill, Rudi Verplancke of Wyndham and John Whitehead of Te Anau”.

Ms Black is concessions and consents manager for Real Journeys Limited. She has interests in natural heritage, ornithology and conservation. Her outdoor interests are tramping, walking, cycling and kayaking.

Mr Ridsdale is Executive Manager of The Ascot Park Hotel. He is interested in environmental sustainability projects. His outdoor interests are hunting, fishing and diving.

Mr Verplancke is General Manager of a horticultural company. He has a sound understanding of conservation issues particularly the protection of native fauna and flora and sustainable management of the horticultural industry. His outdoor interests are hunting and tramping.

Mr Whitehead is a trustee on Waiau Wildlife and Fisheries Habitat Enhancement Trust. He has a strong interest in conservation issues including recreational use of public conservation land in Southland region. His outdoor interests are hunting, climbing, mountain biking, kayaking and tramping.

The Minister thanked outgoing members Russell Ibbotson, Muriel Johnstone and Ian Buick for their significant contribution to the Southland Conservation Board.


Martin Kessick

Murihiku / Invercargill Office
Phone:   +64 3 211 2400
Fax:   +64 4 471 1117
Address:   7th Floor
CUE on Don
33 Don Street
Invercargill 9810
Postal Address:   PO Box 743
Invercargill 9840
Back to top