The Board represents iwi and community interests to manage the Taupō Waters as if they were a reserve for recreation purposes.


It comprises eight members:

  • four appointed by the Minister having regard to the interests of the Crown, conservation, recreation, tourism and freshwater sciences to represent the public interest, and
  • four appointed by the Tuwharetoa Maori Trust Board.

In this section


The Minister of Conservation has made appointments to the Taupō-nui-a-Tia Management Board in accordance with the 2007 Deed, for a three-year term commencing on 1 June 2017.

Crown members are:

  • Mike Britton
  • Chris Johnston
  • Anna Park
  • Dr John Quinn

Tuwharetoa members are:

  • Tangonui Kingi
  • Maria Nepia
  • Topia Rameka
  • Rakeipoho Taiaroa


The functions of the Board are to:

a)  Manage Taupō Waters as if they are a reserve for recreation purposes under the Reserves Act 1977

b)  As far as practicable, and where not inconsistent with the Deed, act as if it were an administering body appointed to control and manage Taupō waters

c) Determine a Management Plan for Taupō Waters

d) Consider and decide applications in accordance with the Management Plan for use of Taupō Waters for:

  1. Non-commercial research
  2. Recreational use activities that may exclude the general public’s use
  3. Any increase in the area owned by Crown structures
  4. Any Crown owned structures for public good

Taupō Waters

‘Taupō Waters’ means the bed of Lake Taupō, the bed of the Waikato River including the Huka Falls and the beds of certain rivers and streams flowing into the Lake. For the sake of clarity, it does not include the water over that land.

The 2007 Deed between the Crown and the Ngāti Tūwharetoa Māori Trust Board records that title to Taupō Waters has been vested in the Ngāti Tūwharetoa Māori Trust Board.

The people of New Zealand have freedom of entry and access to Taupō Waters for recreation.

Back to top