The Wellington Conservation Board has 9 members appointed by the Minister of Conservation. Find out more about the current members of the Board.

Nina Mercer of Palmerston North (Co-Chairperson)

Appointment Term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2025

Nina has worked in conservation on and off for nearly 20 years and has a passion for New Zealand's flora, fauna and landscape. With expertise in communication, facilitation and strategy development Nina has created conservation stories and education resources for facilities such as Central Energy Trust Wildbase Recovery in Palmerston North and contributed to national travel magazines. She has also worked closely with Iwi on species translocation projects and in developing strategic and operational frameworks. Nina has a Post Graduate Diploma in Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management, and is currently working as an Exhibition Developer at Te Manawa Museum. With her family, Nina has tramped and camped her way around much of the Wellington Conservation Board rohe and enjoys heading to the hills whenever the opportunity arises.

Manaaki Barrett of Ōtaki (Co-Chairperson)

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Manaaki is of Te Ati Awa ki Whakarongotai, Ngāti Raukawa, and Ngāti Toa descent and the Operations Manager for Kāpiti Island Nature Tours, providing 10’ years’ experience in whanau-owned ecotourism business. He brings extensive knowledge of Kāpiti Island and the surrounding marine reserve to the Board.

Nicole McCrossin of Wellington (Deputy Chairperson)

Appointment Term: 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2025

Nicole is a principal advisor in the Māori Agribusiness Directorate at the Ministry for Primary Industries. Her studies and career have been centred on the relationship between the Treaty of Waitangi and environmental management, with a background in the negotiation and implementation of natural resources redress in Treaty settlements. Outside of work, she spends as much time as possible outdoors, particularly tramping in the Tararua.

Nicole is also a student of raranga, having recently completed two years study at Te Wānanga o Aotearoa in Porirua, furthering her desire to learn about history, use, and, protection of New Zealand's plants. She is also a Crown representative on the Matiu/Somes Katiaki Board.

Sara Arhaim of Wellington

Appointment term: 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2023

Sara is a Strategic Operations Director with a background in law and accounting. She is a risk and compliance expert, able to analyse proposals from a risk perspective, and has extensive work experience in government agencies.

Carla Bates of Wellington

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025

Clair has varied experience in the environmental field, including consultancy work with oil industry and environmental compliance roles on road and rail construction projects. She is skilled in collaboration and consensus building, whilst providing knowledge of sustainability and adaptability to the Board. Mrs Bates has a strong understanding of environmental strategy, including action plan coordination.

Eric James (Jim) Cook of Palmerston North

Appointment term: 23 November 2021 to 30 June 2023

Eric is a lifelong tramper, fly fisher and hunter, actively enjoying New Zealand’s lakes, rivers, and bush, but most of all beloved South Island mountains. Interest in breeding and rearing cage birds and supporting native bird sanctuaries. He is a member of Wellington Fish & Game, and is a great advocate for the outdoors; he educates volunteers, trainees and the general public in species recognition, pest control and sustainable habitat management.

Toni-Margreat Love of Broadmeadows

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Toni is of Te Ātiawa descent with experience in legal practice and legal academia, particularly related to environmental and Māori law, and their interactions. She is a current board member for Wellington Harbour Islands Board and Para Kore Marae.

Te Rangimārie Williams of Rotorua

Appointment Term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Rangimārie is of Taranaki Whānui, Tūhoe, Ngāti Whakaue, and Ngāti Hauiti descent with experience in expressing Māori, iwi, hapū and whānau values throughout various environmental processes. She has previously practiced as a resource management and environmental lawyer and has various positions representing and advising Māori organisations on environmental matters.

Asher Wilson-Goldman of Paraparaumu

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025

Asher has strong community engagement and governance skills at a local Government and national level and in the recreation sector. He offers knowledge of the machinery of government, and provides extensive experience in communications, planning and supporting outdoor recreation.


Back to top