The Te Hiku o Te Ika Conservation Board has 8 members appointed by the Minister of Conservation. Find out more about the current members of the Board.

Wallace Rivers of Auckland (Co-Chairperson)

Appointment term: 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2024

Wallace (of NgāiTakoto) is nominated by Te Rūnanga o NgāiTakoto. He has 35 years’ experience in the steel industry, providing knowledge and perspective of primary industry to the Board. He is the Chair of Te Rūnanga o NgāiTakoto and offers extensive knowledge of tangata whenua.

Waitai Petera of Auckland (Co-Chairperson)

Appointmnet term: 18 November 2021 to 30 June 2024

Waitai (of Te Aupōuri) is a Waitangi Tribunal Negotiator and a Māori Development Manager with extensive experience of delivering Māori perspectives on cross-cultural initiatives at a strategic and policy level. He is passionate about lifting Māori social and economic wellbeing, knowledgeable in tikanga Māori, and skilled in communications, negoiations, and relationship-building.

Michael Finlayson of Kaitaia

Appointment term: 17 December 2015 to 30 June 2024

Michael is a self-employed Project Manager. He has in-depth knowledge of pest and predator control programmes from 10 years’ involvement with the Herekino Landcare Group. He has served on many community and environmental boards in Northland. His outdoor recreation interests are tramping, fishing, diving, hunting, and gardening.

Pete Furze of Kaitaia

Appointment term: 17 December 2015 to 30 June 2024

Pete brings a strong community voice and environmental ethic to the board, having previously worked in Parks and Community Services in Waitakere City before retiring. He is the current Chairman of Swamp Palace (Oruru) and a committee member of Kaitaia People Centre.

Mina Pomare-Peita of Panguru

Appointment term: 2 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Mina (of Te Rarawa Ki Hokianga and Ngāpuhi) is the Principal and a teacher at Te Kura Taumata o Panguru. Her background in education provides close ties to local community, particularly tangata whenua: iwi, hapū and whānau. She has collaborated with the Department of Conservation, iwi, and crown research institutes to develop educational programmes and initiatives.

Tui Qauqau Te Paa of Ahipara

Appointment term: 2 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Tui (of Te Rarawa) is nominated by Te Rūnanga o Te Rarawa. She is experienced in social, cultural, economic, and environmental initiatives. She has a background in teaching and is well-known and supported in her community.

Jo Shanks of Kaingaroa

Appointment term: 2 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Jo is an Environmental Manager. She offers understanding of environmental concerns and community needs in the Boards rohe. She has experience as an educator and conservationist, and thus, experience working with various stakeholders and community members.

Sheridan Waitai of Awanui

Appointment Term: 17 December 2015 to 30 June 2024

Sheridan (of Ngāti Kuri, Te Rarawa, NgāiTakoto, and Tainui) is nominated by Ngāti Kuri. She grew up in Te Hiku o te Ika and has contributed to social and health projects and initiatives. Sheridan is passionate about education, health and social wellbeing.  She has a good understanding of legislative and policy environment in relation to indigenous issues.

Sheridan has become a resource person to a number of people and initiatives across the country and has inherited her late grandmother Saana Murray’s passion for the welfare of Ngāti Kuri.  She has participated in a number of boards and has experience in the management of forums and governance strategy groups.

Sheridan and her three teenage children are avid collectors of plants for the use of rongoa.  She also is a member of the Wharewhiri Toi Raranga Roopu for raranga. “I want to contribute in a meaningful way that supports Te Hiku Whanau, Whanui especially within my own iwi, Ngāti Kuri, cultural revitalisation, Ngāti Kuri, kaitiaki of our taonga, alive and vibrant Ngāti Kuri Whanau, hapu and iwi.” Ngāti Kuri tona tikanga, Ngāti Kuri tona Rangatira.


Back to top