Find out about the members of the Otago Conservation Board and their additional roles on behalf of the board.

From 1 July 2018, the Otago Conservation Board has eleven members, consisting of nine public members and two iwi appointees. A brief profile for each member is provided below, along with details of member location, terms and Board roles.  

Tara Druce of Alexandra (Chairperson)

Appointment term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2021

Mrs Druce has a background in tourism public policy and research, having been a Senior Research Advisor in the Ministry of Tourism. Now living in Alexandra, she is a self-employed planning consultant, working on tourism, community development, recreation and heritage projects at local, regional and national levels. She is seen as holding highly productive and pro-active relationships in the community.

Dr Philippa Agnew of Oamaru

Appointment term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2021

Dr Agnew is a research scientist with Tourism Waitaki at the Oamaru Blue Penguin Colony. She has a PhD in marine science, specialising in seabirds, and has extensive experience in environmental management, including maintenance, population management, spatial planning and conservation. She has detailed knowledge around protected species and Marine Protected Areas, and was a member of the South East Marine Protection Forum.

Dr Rosemary Clucas of Dunedin

Appointment term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2021

Dr Clucas is a nominee of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu. She is a qualified scientist, self-employed as a consultant ecologist. Her background  includes environmental management advocacy and cultural awareness, and her consultancy deals with climate change, biodiversity, in-stream flow surveys, and cultural values.

Kimberley Collins of Dunedin

Appointment term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2021

Collins is a science communicator and conservationist who specialises in using digital media to engage people with conservation and the environment. She runs her own business and works part time for the Antarctic and Southern Ocean Coalition. Having previously worked with Forest & Bird, Zealandia Ecosanctuary, and other conservation organisations, she has a strong understanding of conservation at a local and national level.

Ranui Ellison Collins of Dunedin

Appointment term: 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2020

Ranui is the Ngāi Tahu Representative on the Otago Conservation Board. Ranui grew up in Dunedin, attending Queens High School and recently graduated from Otago University with a Bachelor of Commerce in Economics, a Bachelor of Arts in Indigenous Development and a Diploma of Languages enforced in Mandarin.  Ranui's interests include venturing out to areas and building on her knowledge of indigenous species. 

Bruce Jefferies of Wanaka

Appointment term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2020

Bruce is an experienced international consultant and practitioner in protected area management and planning. He is a former Conservator (Tai Rawhiti) and Conservation Board member (Tongariro), and a current Member of Forest & Bird. Bruce’s outdoor recreation interests are skiing, fishing, and using the backcountry.  He has a strong interest and commitment to Sagarmatha National Park (Nepal) and is a Himalayan Trust Board member.

Donald Lousley of Wanaka

Appointment Term: 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2021

Mr Lousley is currently self-employed in several roles, including landscape and wildlife photographer. He has extensive outdoor experience in New Zealand with skills including, bushcraft, avalanche control, mountaineering, and trap installation and monitoring. He was previously employed by the Department of Conservation over summer periods from 2014-2017, looking after huts, tracks and people in Mt Aspiring National Park, and predator control and bird monitoring.

Andrea Ludemann of rural Waitaki

Appointment term: 1 July 2017 - 30 June 2020

Andrea is an Administration/Health and Safety Manager for Banarach Farm Limited, and Administrator for the Otago Rural Support Trust. She completed the Governance Development Programme from the Institute of Directors in 2013 and continues with development in governance. She has considerable links into the Waitaki community, and likes to assist the public to understand public processes and resolve concerns and complaints. Andrea’s outdoor recreation interests are cycling, skiing, tramping and gardening.

Robyn Shanks of Catlins

Appointment term: 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2022

Mrs Shanks is a sheep and beef farmer with 37 years’ experience. She has a direct involvement and interest in the coastal environment and cultural awareness through employment by the Māori Land Trust at the Cathedral Caves. She has knowledge of the impact of tourism and farming on conservation land and the environment.

Dave Vass of Wanaka

Appointment term: 1 July 2017 - 30 June 2020

Dave has been an enthusiastic adventurer for over 30 years, especially as a mountaineer/climber mainly throughout the southern mountain areas of Fiordland and Otago. He is the co-founder of New Zealand’s first canyoning company based in Wanaka and believes that smaller-scale tourism ventures have a particular ability to interact with nature in a meaningful and sustainable way.

Back to top