The Auckland Conservation Board has 11 members appointed by the Minister of Conservation. The Board is currently carrying 1 vacancies. Find out more about the current members of the Board.

Nicola MacDonald of Auckland (Chairperson)

Appointment term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2024

Nicola (of Ngāti Rehua, Ngāti Wai, Te Rarawa, Te Atiawa, and Ngāti Maru ki Taranaki), is a current member of a number of governance bodies, including the Hauraki Gulf Forum, Aotea Conservation Park Advisory Committee, and the Māori Women’s Welfare League. She has experience in leading environmental programmes such as the Restore Rakitū and Bring Back Kōkako projects.

Dr Achyut Aryal of Auckland

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025

Dr Aryal offers excellent diversity of perspective from his expeircnes working and studiying aborad, having worked and researched extensively on Nepalese methods of conservation. He is the CEO of CC Training Academy, an Associate with Massey University, and holds other senior roles with the University of Sydney. Dr Aryal also has varied and significant experience, particularly in academia in relation to species and biology conservation.

Robert Bruce of Auckland

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023

Robert offers knowledge and experience of the recreation and tourism sectors, as a current tourism operator and guiding concessionaire. He has co-ordinated conservation activities such as tree planting and beach clean ups around Auckland. Robert also has wide experience in governance, strategy, and business leadership.

Rahul Chopra of Auckland

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025

Rahul is a Sustainability and Climate Action Consultant and provides expertise in issues relating to climate change adaptation and mitigation and sustainable environmental management. He is experienced in public policy, communications, and stakeholder relations, and in developing transformative outcome-based strategic guidance, as well as specialist scientific and technical advice. Rahul is currently a Board Member of Pest Free Kaipatiki Restoration Society, and Principal Consultant, Forum Director, and Editor of New Zealand Sustainability & Policy Leaders Forum.

Nerissa Henry of Auckland

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023

Nerissa is of Ngāpuhi, Ngāi Takoto, and Ngāti Awa, and Cook Islands Māori decent and has extensive experience working in waste minimisation and environmental initiatives. She would bring experience and knowledge of community conservation, community engagement, cultural competency, and governance to the board. Nerissa is a current Local Board member and sits on the Tamaki Estuary Environmental Forum. She has deep knowledge of kaitiakitanga and the Treaty.

Dr Nathan Kennedy of Waihi 

Appointment term: 1 October 2014 to 30 June 2023

Nathan (of Ngāti Whanaunga, Marutūāhu, and Ngāti Hei) was nominated by Ngā Mana Whenua o Tāmaki Makaurau / Marutūāhu rōpū. Nathan is a Treaty negotiator for Ngāti Whanaunga, GIS (geographic information systems) analyst, and was environment officer for Ngāti Whanaunga for over 15 years. He is currently engaged as the senior Māori heritage technical specialist within Auckland Council's Chief Planning Office.

Mervyn Kerehoma of Orakei

Appointment term: 7 July 2020 to 30 June 2023

Mervyn (of Ngāti Karaua and Ngāti  Whanaunga) is nominated by Ngāti Whatua rōpū nominee. He has experience in cultural engagement, and as a relationship liaison. He has understanding of ecology restoration planning, pest management, and biodiversity monitoring.

Dr Shane Lavery of Auckland

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Shane is a Associate Professor at the University of Auckland and offers over 40 years’ experience in marine and terrestrial biological conservation research. He has extensive knowledge of biodiversity and has served on several advisory boards.

Gael Ogilvie of Auckland

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2025

Gael is the Director of Nature's Grace Aotearoa. She has extensive governance experience, serving on a number of Boards and Steering Groups concerned with environmental sustainability. She is currently a Board member of the NZ Ecolabelling Trust.

Kate Waterhouse of Auckland and Aotea

Appointment term: 19 November 2019 and 30 June 2024

Kate is an experienced business and conservation leader with strategy, facilitation and change experience across the public and private sector in New Zealand and overseas. Kate advocates for a collaborative approach to biodiversity protection and ecosystems restoration.  She is Chair of the Aotea Great Barrier Environmental Trust, served six years on the Aotea Conservation Park Advisory Committee and is a trustee of the Hauturu Supporters Trust. She recently completed a Masters in Creative Writing at the University of Auckland. 


Back to top