Image: Sabine Bernert | ©


These statutory and advisory bodies report to the Minister of Conservation.


    Statutory bodies serviced by DOC: 
    • New Zealand Conservation Authority
    • Conservation boards
    • Nature Heritage Fund Committee
    • Nga Whenua Rahui Komiti
    • Guardians of lakes Manapouri, Monowai and Te Anau
    • Guardians of Lake Wanaka
    • Titi (Muttonbird) Islands Komiti
    • Taupo Fishery Advisory Committee
    • Some reserve boards established under the Reserves Act and Marine Reserves Act.
    Statutory bodies not serviced by DOC:

    These have their own staff. The Director-General of DOC can attend and speak at meetings.

    • QEII National Trust
    • Game Animal Council
    • NZ Fish & Game Council
    • 12 regional fish and game councils.
    Back to top