Fiordland region

Hunter, Eglinton Valley. Photo copyright: Nancy Train. DOC USE ONLY.

Hunter, Eglinton Valley, Fiordland National Park

Map of New Zealand highlighting the Fiordland region.

Fiordland National Park (established in 1952) has spectacular ice-carved fiords, lakes and valleys, rugged granite tops and pristine mountain to sea vistas.

Fiordland National Park is special not only in New Zealand but is also internationally recognised as part of Te Wāhipounamu - South West New Zealand World Heritage Area.

Fiordland National Park, the nearby Pyke Forest and areas in western Southland provide a wide range of hunting opportunities. This region is a popular place for hunting red deer, wapiti, possums and in certain areas, wild pigs and chamois.


Fiordland National Park is in the south-western corner of New Zealand, and covers an area of 1,260,740 hectares. Access by road is via Te Anau, Lake Manapouri, and other points on the Scenic Southern Route.

Find out more

Hunting permit online.

Apply online for a hunting permit or renew.


Learn more

Fiordland visitor information website

Stop the spread of didymo
Check, Clean, Dry all items before entering, and when moving between, waterways.


Follow the Outdoor Safety Code:
1. Plan your trip
2. Tell someone
3. Be aware of the weather
4. Know your limits
5. Take sufficient supplies


Te Rua-o-te-moko / Fiordland National Park Visitor Centre
Phone:      +64 3 249 7924
Address:   Fiordland National Park
Visitor Centre
Lakefront Drive
Te Anau 9600
Full office details