Have your say on the naming of five scenic reserves located alongside the Clutha River in Central Otago. Submissions close 3 February 2017

Pursuant to the New Zealand Geographic Board Act 2008, notice is hereby given that DOC proposes to name five scenic reserves located alongside the Clutha River in Central Otago of the South Island. 

This notice advises of the following scenic reserves names and seeks submissions from any person or organisation wishing to support or object to the proposed name (noting that this notice relates to the proposed names only and not to the establishment of the scenic reserves themselves). 

The scenic reserves

Contact Energy owned a number of parcels of land along the Upper Clutha Valley, upstream and downstream from the Luggate Bridge on the Luggate to Tarris Road. The parcels of land were originally required by Contact Energy for hydro-electric generation purposes. In 2014 Contact Energy no longer required these parcels of land and they were purchased by DOC to become scenic reserves. 

The five proposed scenic reserves are located in the same vicinity, alongside the Clutha River, near Luggate approximately 13 km east of Wanaka. 

The proposed names for the five scenic reserves are:

  • Newcastle Scenic Reserve
  • The Nook Scenic Reserve
  • Reko’s Point Scenic Reserve
  • Kanes Scenic Reserve
  • Autaia Scenic Reserve. 

View location maps of the scenic reserves (PDF, 477K)

How to submit

Submissions must provide reasons for supporting or objecting to the proposed names and, if an objection is made, then an alternative name proposal may be suggested. 

Submissions are due by Friday 3 February 2017 and should be sent to:

Helen James
Department of Conservation
Statutory Land Management Advisor
PO Box 5244


For an information pack on these scenic reserves contact Helen James +64 3 477 0677.

After considering any submissions received on the proposed names, and before finally deciding on the name, the Minister of Conservation will refer them to the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa), in accordance with section 16 Reserves Act 1977, in order to be reviewed by the Board under section 27(3) of the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008.

Back to top