Red deer. Photo: Rod Morris.

Red deer

Deer live in a range of habitats and initiate damaging changes in plant communities by foraging selectively. However, deer are also keenly hunted for recreation and commercially harvested for venison.

Seven species of deer have been established in the wild in New Zealand:

Red deer Cervus elaphus scoticus
Wapiti C.elaphus nelsoni
Sika deer C. nippon
Sambar C. unicolor
Rusa deer C. timorensis
Fallow deer Dama dama
White-tailed deer Odocoileus virginianus