The kiwi is the national icon of New Zealand and the unofficial national emblem.

New Zealanders have been called "Kiwis" since the nickname was bestowed by Australian soldiers in the First World War.

Today a lot of dedicated people help to prevent kiwi from becoming extinct.

Kiwis for kiwis logo


Find out more

Learn more

New Zealand Birds Online Encyclopedia of New Zealand birds


DOC's 24 hour emergency hotline:

0800 DOC HOT (0800 362 468)

Call to report sick or injured wildlife, and whale or dolphin strandings.