A short history of the Department of Conservation: 1987-2007


March 2007

DOC turned 20 years old on 1 April 2007. Read a short history of the Department.

Publication information

Dawn at Mount Aspiring National Park. Photo copyright: Timothy Ensom. DOC USE ONLY.
Dawn at Mount Aspiring National Park

By Bernie Napp


Many people contributed directly or indirectly to this work. Particular thanks are due to Harry Broad, Andrew Bignell, Murray Hosking, Kevin O’Connor, Jeff Connell, Bill Carlin, Greg Sherley, Mike Edginton, Shaun O’Connor, Herb Christophers, Janet Forbes, Janice Molloy, Chris Ward, Tim Amos, Tony Walton, Brian Sheppard, Kevin Jones.


Whare Kaupapa Atawhai / Conservation House
Phone:      +64 4 471 0726
Email:   Enquiries@doc.govt.nz
Full office details